The lack of real lapability

mtalinm

Nov 4, 2013
Visit site
someone (maybe third party, suspect msft's too stubborn to do it) just needs to build a "base"-style keyboard like the Helix where you can insert the SP and have the connectors work. then all the lapability-folks will be satisfied...until they realize that a base-style keyboard adds another pound.

acegamer

May 24, 2014
Visit site
I use my SP2 at work everyday and never have to use it on my lap (I'm an architect). I do use it on my lap when at home relaxing and have no problem at all with it. The kickstand rests comfortably at the front edge of my knees and the keyboard is in the perfect position. That is how I"m using it right now. I think each persons particular body type has an affect on well it works. For me the benefit of being able to quickly switch between tablet and laptop is far greater than any shortcomings that it may have vs a pure laptop for "lapability".

SwimSwim

Feb 1, 2013
Visit site
I use my SP2 at work everyday and never have to use it on my lap (I'm an architect). I do use it on my lap when at home relaxing and have no problem at all with it. The kickstand rests comfortably at the front edge of my knees and the keyboard is in the perfect position. That is how I"m using it right now. I think each persons particular body type has an affect on well it works. For me the benefit of being able to quickly switch between tablet and laptop is far greater than any shortcomings that it may have vs a pure laptop for "lapability".

Indeed. Never had any issues with my SP2, aside from when I'm trying to prop in on my knees in bed (I.E: typing up an essay for school before I hit the hay).

However, with the SP3's new kickstand, that shouldn't be an issue anymore. Basically, the ability to seamlessly transition between tablet and laptop ha only been further improved thanks to the 3 being thinner, lighter, a much improved aspect ratio, and the fantastic new kickstand.