Hands On: Surface Pro 3 (my opinion from my usage with the SP3)

ExTrAbUtTa

Dec 9, 2012
Visit site
So, does that mean that the other button could be a middle-mouse click?

​Also... do you know if there is pen tilt sensitivity? Can you vary lines based on the angle you're holding the pen?

The middle mouse click I'm not too sure about unfortunately. I do know that the other button on the pen had a function that was similar to a "cut and copy". Could it be configured to allow a middle-click? I would almost think so. The buttons do have settings within the Bluetooth Dives that can be manipulated. I do know for some people that middle-click is crucial.

As for the tilt-sensitivity, I'm not going to say I'm 100% sure on that. With my use it "seems" to have that sensitivity, but remember I'm no artist or a person who is even looking or registering such a level of pen input. My use on the device is strictly from a note taking and quick doodle perspective. I do know that from the previous iterations of the Surface Pen it has a lot better feedback and sensitivity in those areas. That could lead it to have more areas of sensitivity I haven't explored.

ExTrAbUtTa

Dec 9, 2012
Visit site
I like the review but the only thing I'm not sold on is the keyboard. I have the newer Surface 2 keyboard and it works but I can't get used to the sound it makes when typing. I have a sense the keyboard on this thing won't be any different. If I use the S3 as a laptop replacement, I hope to pair a standard bluetooth keyboard such as the one I pair to my desktop. Which will leave me without a cover but I guess I'll know more when I lay hands on it. Thanks for the review and the pics.