My Surface Pro 3 Docking Station just arrived

cschmach

Mar 19, 2014
Visit site
UPS just delivered my SP3 Docking Station. I really like the magnet built into the left side. It is really strong and secures the pen well. It is even easier to dock/undock than my old SP2 Docking Station. I'm a student and a veteran; so both discounts were the same through the Microsoft store.
This is my current setup (taken with a Lumia 1520): (Hard to believe not too long ago everything I owned had an apple on it)
WP_20140815_14_44_17_Pro.jpgWP_20140815_14_44_44_Pro.jpgWP_20140815_14_44_01_Pro.jpg

Coreldan

Oct 2, 2012
Visit site
Too much awesomeness in one picture! :D

If I wouldn't need a desktop for the occasional gaming I still do on it (mostly WoW) and I wouldn't be limited in budget, I would get a bit more powerful Surface Pro 3 and the docking station and just replace my desktop with it. But since for probably a few years more my desktop is capable and I still game a bit on it, I ended up just getting an i3 config SP3 to replace my aging first gen RT. Not to mention the dock is quite expensive too :p

rdubmu

May 25, 2011
Visit site
How are you able to set up a 2nd monitor? Any special adapters you need to do say 2 monitors plus the sp3 screen?

Sent from my iPhone using WPCentral Forums

cschmach

Mar 19, 2014
Visit site
How are you able to set up a 2nd monitor? Any special adapters you need to do say 2 monitors plus the sp3 screen?

Sent from my iPhone using WPCentral Forums

This Docking Station has a Mini DisplayPort built into the back of it. The design of the Docking Station also leaves the SP3's Mini DisplayPort exposed. I use HDMI to connect to my external monitor. To connect via HDMI you would need a Mini DisplayPort to HDMI adapter (about $25; I'm using an Insignia), and of course a HDMI cord.