Which Surface?

Clancy Weeks

Mar 25, 2014
Visit site
My current desktop setup is a Core2Duo with 4GB of RAM and standard disk drives... nothing spectacular, but it gets the job done. I'm looking to replace the big cat and laptop with a single Surface 3 Pro solution. My question is which one will give me the greatest jump in performance at the lowest price?

In other words, will I be happy with the performance difference between my current desktop and a new SP3 for more than a year? I have a feeling that the jump will be noticeable even with an i5 with 4GB of RAM, but I have no experience with the new SP3's.

Anyone out there made a change from a system such as mine recently? I'm currently running Adobe CS on this beast, and am hoping a SP3 and docking station will be a good solution.

Last edited:

canonuevo

Aug 22, 2013
Visit site
I haven't made a change from it recently but the i5 you should notice a difference significantly. You should go into a microsoft store if possible to try one out.

Adam_ation

Jul 24, 2014
Visit site
I would suggest the i5 256/8gb, due to my job I also have a crazy spec laptop and desktop and am still amazed at how well my SP3 performs! - Adam

Clancy Weeks

Mar 25, 2014
Visit site
Thanks! I was thinking the same thing, but want to make sure I am satisfied for at least two years. I would prefer to spend as little as possible, but I think the jump from 4GB to 8GB is also a necessity. I've also got two large monitors and will need some sort of docking station, I think.

RTGent

Jan 24, 2013
Visit site
I picked up an 8/256 SP 2 to be my Toshiba Porteg? replacement, mostly because of its superior portability, though I am fully satisfied with its performance, and there are plenty of videos out there illustrating the SP2's ability to run CS and even more demanding software well.