Surface Pro 3 Questions

ar-7

May 9, 2015
Visit site
I'm new to the forms and doing some research on the Surface line. I am thinking of going from my MacBook Pro/iPad Air to the Surface Pro 3 or the 4 when that comes out. I have some questions about the Surface i'm hoping someone can answer.

First, while I own a Mac and iPad I am by no means an Apple die hard. I have an Android phone and have no problems using different systems.

I am thinking about switching to a Surface so that I have all of the capabilities of a PC with the portability of a tablet. There are also times I wish I could use a stylus on my MacBook for work.

Here are my actual questions.

- Are apps/software optimized for the screen?

This is one thing that is great about the iPad. I find the screen aspect ratio much more natural to use vs the Android tablets.

- Are there limitations?

One thing that I hate when on my phone or iPad is being limited. Examples: can't create a new label in gmail, having to use the mobile version of a website, etc. The Surface Pro 3 gives you real capabilities and not a light version that you sometimes feel like you get on a phone/tablet?

- How is the keyboard/trackpad?

I really like the keyboard/trackpad on the MacBook. How does the one on the Surface type cover compare?

- How is the performance?

The latest version of Windows I have used is Windows 7. How is the performance on a higher end Surface Pro?

Any feedback is welcomed. I'm going to be browsing some old threads too.

TechFreak1

May 15, 2013
Visit site
First of all, good to see your considering the alternatives out there.

1) Some win32 apps will have issues with the DPI scaling, modern apps will be less an issue.

2) Pretty much every review raves how much travel the keyboard has given it is extremely thin, I recall Linus from Linus tech tips exclaimed "the keys feel like they have portals underneath them!"