i7 8GB vs. i5 16GB

jbaylon

May 22, 2014
Visit site
I'm curious if anyone has thoughts (or, better yet, user experiences) comparing the i7 and i5 options. Is the i7 notably peppier? Will the graphics performance (for light to mid gaming) be much different? Is it worth caring? Will the i7 version take a battery life hit? My budget restricts me to the i5 16GB version or the i7 8GB version ($90 more than the previous), so I'm also wondering if dropping from 16GB for the i5 to 8GB for the i7 would eliminate some (or most) of the benefits of the i7 performance boost.

John M Beauchemin

Sep 21, 2015
Visit site
If you don't know whether or not you need 8GB or 16GB, then I promise you, you don't need 16GB. I'm going with the i7 256GB myself as the processing power is absolutely going to be the biggest bang for your buck. I am a digital artist and a gamer and I build my own PC's... you would have to try like crazy to tap out 16GB.

jbaylon

May 22, 2014
Visit site
Hmm. Thanks for the feedback! Would you expect the i7 version to take a hit on battery life? Also, processing power aside, do you know anything about the integrated graphics performance of the i7 (iris, I think it's called...) compared to the i5 (HD520, I think....)?

John M Beauchemin

Sep 21, 2015
Visit site
Hmm. Thanks for the feedback! Would you expect the i7 version to take a hit on battery life? Also, processing power aside, do you know anything about the integrated graphics performance of the i7 (iris, I think it's called...) compared to the i5 (HD520, I think....)?

It's possible I suppose... I don't know enough about the chips to say but typically if it's clocked faster, it eats battery faster, so there's that. But MS could have compensated somewhere else in the design in order to give both units the same usage rates.