The Surface Pro 4 - Replacing My Surface 3

Andy_Elvis11

Oct 9, 2015
Visit site
Hey folks!

I'm just wondering if I could grab a little bit of user feedback!

I currently work with a Surface 3 (I use it for work, but it's being taken from me at the end of the month, i'm gutted) - but a Pro 4 has been in the pipeline for a while for me.

I'm by trade a filmmaker -
I was considering using it as a mobile editing machine, however I've got other people and other equipment to do that with, so it's not really an issue. Basically, my usage will be pretty much storyboarding, writing, note-taking - and connecting to other devices to mirror content. I'd like the idea of using After Effects to maybe crack out a few different motion graphic titles, premiere for any miniscule editing (as I say, I have another system for these) - and probably a lot of photoshop. Editing & creating whatever I'm needed to basically, i'm actually starting to get a lot into photography a lot now as I can take cameras out from our studio, so probably a lot of RAW images. At Home i'm likely to connect my SP4 to the new dock with 2 x displays (nothing fancy, just a little more screen real estate). I'm not likely to be away from power - I know there's a few battery / sleep issues at the moment but i'm likely just to wire it in 80% of the time.

I've basically settled for an i5 - I don't think the M3 will cut the photoshop work i'm likely to do. I'm just umming and arring with the amount of RAM to have - 4gb or 8gb. I'll throw in a 128gb SD card to Storage isn't really an issue (everything is on hard - disks or cloud).

Originally I was looking at an i7 16gb, however i've come to my senses and realised that although nice, probably a little bit overkill!

If anyone's in the same boat, or has the same kind of usage, i'd love to be able to hear a little bit more on how it's performed for you.

stephenamick

Dec 23, 2015
Visit site
Interesting post.