SP4 vs SP5

jabz9

Aug 6, 2009
Visit site
I'm currently a college student and I plan on getting a new computer soon. I know for sure that I want to get a Surface, I'm just not sure if I should the surface pro 4 or should I wait for Surface pro 5. I know I want to get an i5 model with 256gb.
The information that I'd like to know, do any of you guys know if the SP5 will be announced and released in April or may, or possibly even later. Also, do you think the battery will be significantly better than the SP4 or will it be around the same?

Thank you for your feedback in advance!

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Hi jabz9, please refrain from creating multiple threads in the future, thanks!

I'm not sure we have many details to go off of and you're really comparing to a device that doesn't exist yet so I think the best thing to think about is whether the Pro 4 meets your needs and is at the right price.

onlysublime

Jun 24, 2013
Visit site
Unless they really change the form factor, the battery will pretty much be the same size. The next-gen CPU will be Kaby Lake and it's not a huge power saver compared to the Surface Pro 4's current-gen Skylake. I would guess a 5-15% improvement. Not a game changer. However, as with any new iteration (and remember, Kaby Lake is not a new design but rather an evolution from Skylake), they will likely have ironed out the bugs in Skylake and I firmly believe that Skylake bugs were a major reason why the Surface Pro 4 had such major headaches with things like sleep and connected standby, requiring so many patches and updates.