Should I buy the Surface Dial?

Al Sacco

Apr 29, 2008
Visit site
Hi all.

I'm a newcomer to the Surface world, but starting a few months ago, I took the plunge and I've gone all-in. Today I'm using a new Surface Pro, along with either a Signature Type Cover (Alcantara and all) or a Surface Ergonomic Keyboard depending on whether I'm working at my desk or on the go, a Surface Arc Mouse, Surface Pen (though I rarely use it), and a Surface Dock to connect my monitors and other peripherals while at my normal workstation.

The only official Surface Pro accessory from Microsoft that I've really steered clear of so far is the Surface Dial, because though it looks cool, it also looks like something I'd use for a week and then never touch again. And it's not cheap at $100.

I'm not an artist, and I wouldn't really be using the Dial along with sketching or art apps. I know it can work with all kinds of apps. But I'm wondering if any of you have compelling reasons or innovative uses for the Surface Dial that I haven't thought of. If you own a Surface Dial, do you like it? Why or why not? And more specifically, should I buy one?

convergent

May 20, 2017
Visit site
Other than the desktop keyboard (I use compact Logitech Bluetooth because I want a small keyboard), I have all the same kit you do, and faced the same question. I decided it wasn't worthwhile for two reasons. First, the compatible apps list is pretty minimal and I see no new ones being added - https://forums.windowscentral.com/e...-store%2Fsurface-dial-and-apps&token=BS0rcMMK , so Microsoft has not established this as a standard. Second, the size of it is really too large for a Surface Pro. I might be interested in buying it if they did a Surface Dial Mini that was half the diameter and designed for the Pro and Book. Otherwise, I decided to pass. I see it more or less as a gimmick if you aren't using some of the supported artist apps on the Surface Studio.

Al Sacco

Apr 29, 2008
Visit site