Surface Pro or Surface tablet?

nickpoppy23

Feb 4, 2018
Visit site
Hey guys! I'm a college student looking to buy a good product that I can easily load and read my textbooks from. Do I need to drop the large amount of cash for a pro to be able to efficiently do this? Or will the atom processor handle this just fine? Basically just looking for some pro's and con's to help me make a decision. Thanks!

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Any decent computer from the past several years (and maybe even older) would be perfectly capable of reading PDFs, web browsing, etc. so for reading textbooks and light usage like web browsing and Office work, you don't need to break the bank.

A Surface Pro seems a bit like overkill in that case, but if this is going to become your primary computer, it becomes a better option.

So I would take a look at what else you want to do, how much you're willing to spend and go from there.

Other things to consider would be how long you want it to likely last, whether you need a keyboard, etc. The Surface lineup is solidly built and well-made but if ANYTHING goes wrong out-of-warranty, whether its a button breaking or battery wearing out, you'll essentially have to replace the whole device. There are some other tablets that are better options in this regard. Also if you want more horsepower (doesn't seem like it), desktops and less svelte laptops are better bang-for-buck options.

But judging from just your post alone, I would think that a Surface 3 with 4 GB RAM ought to fit the bill.

overboard08

Aug 27, 2013
Visit site
Depends on what your use-case is going to be for school.

For engineering, you'd probably be better off with Surface Book 2 -- and you get a sweet tablet use-case out of it for that hands-on feel of reviewing text books and annotating equations.