Surface Pro 8 SSD replacement. Is it working out? What do you think?

Williaml99

Dec 8, 2012
Visit site
Greetings all. After reading the excellent Daniel Rubino article I was inspired to get the 256 GB model and upgrade. 2020 hind sight, I wish I would have ordered the 512 or 1TB model and just spent the money.

I bought the 1TB WD drive and had no luck. I have a lot of experience imaging computers. I tried from official MS media, my own recovery drive and Acronis. It would crash with that drive no matter what. ssd_crash.jpg. I am still excited about making this work.

I am curious to know if you plan to try this and if you have what drive did you use and how is it working.

I am thinking of getting the Kioxia_Toshiba drive.

The seller of the WD drive says that he thinks it is not the drives fault. I just know it will not work as an OS drive on my Surface pro 8. I can make it work as a stand alone drive in my external enclosure but that is not needed.

Not sure if I got a bad drive or compatibility issue with this model. (CH SN530 M.2 2230 SSD). Pleas share your experience and thoughts. Also good luck if you go down this road.

Williaml99

Dec 8, 2012
Visit site
Thanks, yes in deed. Used a couple of utilities and also just formatted in windows. Disk clone would never work with Acronis. Might have worked from different computer if I had two nvme enclosers but only had one.

Williaml99

Dec 8, 2012
Visit site
My Surface Pro 03 & 05 were just 512GB so I humbled myself and set my sights a little lower. I just decided to shop 512G new or used from American sellers. I bought a 512GB M.2 2230 NVMe PCIe SSD XA1-31512 for $65 bucks. It wont be here until the 4th thru 9th. I also got another little nvme enclosure to clone the drive if needed.

mosargent

Nov 15, 2021
Visit site