New to the forum

XBWillem

Jan 6, 2012
Visit site
Hello all,

I just signed up for the forum. I have been visiting the website since I got my HTC Titan a couple of months back.

My name is Willem van Vugt and I live in the Netherlands. I'm studying Communications at a University of Applied Sciences in Vlissingen. Apart from studying, I work in a local grocery store (Albert Heijn) and I'm chief editor at the Dutch Xbox 360 website Xboxworld.

Could somebody show me around? I'm looking for the right forum / topic to ask a question about my Wi-Fi. I read in the FAQ there's no option to prevent Wi-Fi from going to sleep. I'd like to learn more about this.

TheWeeBear

Jan 9, 2011
Visit site
welcome.gif

Good morning XBWillem.

Unfortunately you're right, loads of users would like their Wi-Fi to stay awake but of course as you have discovered it currently doesn't. (Perhaps in future updates it will)

Feel free to post any enquiries in the Titan forum or general Windows Phone OS forum.

I have a Titan too and absolutely love it, are you liking yours ?

Oh and welcome along to WPCentral XBWillem. :)

XBWillem

Jan 6, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for the reply TheWeeBear. Am I correct that's it better to post in the HTC forum with questions concering how my device works, than the OS forum?

TheWeeBear

Jan 9, 2011
Visit site
Well Wi-Fi sleeping isn't just restricted to the Titan XBWillem, it's all Windows Phones, so you post it in whichever section you like. :)

jimski

Dec 11, 2010
Visit site
Just as an FYI, in unrelated battery drain tests, I discovered that when on WiFi only, your WiFi will turn on every two hours and sync email. Not sure yet how long it stays on or whether it run background tasks etc. Still testing. Not instant, but if you turn off data you will still receive email.

Sent from my HTC Surround using Board Express

XBWillem

Jan 6, 2012
Visit site
Yes hope so too XBWillem.