I ditched my Nexus for a 521... and couldn't be happier...

The_Guest_Who

Feb 6, 2014
Visit site
A tale of a recent WP convert...

I'm a long-time wireless veteran, having worked in the industry since the birth of PCS and early CDMA/TDMA handsets - I jumped into smartphones with the Qualcomm QCP-800 and the Kyocera 6135. I've played around with Palm Treos, HTC Windows Mobile OEM's, a slew of BlackBerrys (from the old monochrome "2-way pagers" up to the 3G Bolds), rocked a couple of Nokia Symbians (and Maemo - loved my N900!), several Androids and a few iDevices... so I think I'm not the typical over-the-hill technology neophyte. :grin:

My last "flagship" device was a Nexus 4 - although I was hip-deep in the Google ecosystem, it never really felt "right"... Android 4.2 made up for a wealth of shortcomings in my prior device (an LG Optimus-series, running 2.3), but even with its "Project Butter" tunings and lauded-by-top-geeks "stock" experience, it wasn't comfortable. Not all of the phone's features were apparent - there were quite a few "Oh, so that's how you do that" moments, and I felt like there was more of a learning curve than what should be in the "world's most popular OS". By contrast, I've administered iPads as part of a former job - iOS walks you by the hand through everything... which is nice, but the iPhone hardware doesn't appeal to me. It's expensive for what it is, and there's little difference in the models being offered.