Hello all, looking to make the jump with a really nice camera

Rick Salvato

May 23, 2014
Visit site
Greetings all,

So I'm looking to jump ship from iOS to WP. I've done a lot of research on the subject and found that for the most part it should be a relatively easy switch for me. Although I will miss my Citibank app immensely and hope they are planning to make one soon. But I think I can go on without it, my main question is about the phones and specifically the cameras on them.

One of the things that gave me the bug to change are the great cameras available on the Nokia phones. I am a lazy amateur photographer, meaning I take a ton of pictures but I really don't want to mess with camera settings in general. I like to have the camera set to auto and shoot away. With that in mind, which phone should I consider? Originally I was sold on the 1020 with its superior camera but would it be better for me to go with a "lesser" camera like the one on the Icon to get a better and more up to date phone in general? Carrier is not really an issue since I am at the end of my contract.

Any advice or tricks for making the change as painless as possible are also welcomed and thank you all in advance!

Thanks!
Rick

TechFreak1

May 15, 2013
Visit site
Welcome, If you are in the US I would say get the Lumia Icon if size is an issue if not get the 1520.3 model as the latter has a micro sd card and larger battery. Never the less both have the same camera module, also the upcoming Lumia 930 is a global version of the Lumia Icon.

In regards to switching have a look here
Switching to Windows Phone from
iPhone or Android | Windows Phone How-to (United States)

Also Lumia Cyan which is the windows phone 8.1 update plus Nokia D & S tweaks (technically they are Microsoft tweaks since they bought Nokia's Devices & Services Division) is due to a June 24 or so release.

Wp 8.1 brings a lot of new features including:
  1. A notification centre with quick access toggles