Newbie to WP and my tale of how I got there!

Mad Cabbie

Retired Ambassador
Jun 9, 2015
Visit site
After many years of being a die hard android fan, I saw through the hype and continual re-invention of the wheel, by the big manufacturers (SamDung) mainly!!

As a cab driver I thought the S Pen would come in handy. In nearly two years, I NEVER used it. I was getting irritated with the continual poor signal on 3G / LTE. So when I was offered a Note 4, I took a long, hard, look at how I actually use a phone. I never used the pen, OK Google was a crap shoot with answers given and then there is the constant background apps running, and a plethora of bundled apps!

I saw an ad on TV showing the Cortana system. My thoughts were, yeah, I bet it doesn't really work like that! Off to the shops, a new 930 was shown to me, and a demo of the 'Hey Cortana' feature was demonstrated and VIOLA! I am now pretty much completely hands free in the taxi with cortana accurately taking notes to the calendar, calling, texting, reading texts etc! Bang, I now owned a WP without so much as casting my eyes over the store for apps. It has everything I need. The one drive is a great help, and enables the office to place bookings in a file and I can access them from there!! My only gripe?? IE is Poo!

Well after two weeks, I LOVE it!! Samdung can keep their gimmicks and toys ( wireless charging eh, old hat...LOL ).