Lumia 640 + Windows 10

TechnoBill

Dec 17, 2015
Visit site
I created an account in order to say thanks to the community for all the information and commentary.

I have been using a Lumia 635 for about 8 months or so and it was a love/hate relationship while it had 8.1 on it.

I activated the Windows Insider Program and got it updated to Windows 10 and pretty much fell in love. Yes there are some caveats but it was a complete game changer in regards to my opinion on the Windows Mobile platform.

But the 635 is severely underpowered and even though it is very responsive running Windows 10 it does struggle at moments so I decided to upgrade. I can't afford the 950XL or 950 and so I looked into the newly announced 550.

I lurked around the forums here and after a bit of reading and research I decided to buy the Lumia 640 instead. $59.99 direct from Microsoft (I am assuming it's a Go Phone model) combined with just about the same specs as the 550 I felt that it was the better purchase. It should be here on Monday.

I purchased a PNY 64gb MicroSD card (the UHS 3 model) so I'm ready to go.

These forums really helped me to make the decision and I thank you all for it.

People say that Windows Phone is going to die. I have already seen an uptick in Universal Apps now that Windows 10 for the desktop is picking up steam. I think the story's ending is still unwritten. :smile:

RumoredNow

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Welcome, Bill...

It's always great to hear that our little corner of the interwebz helped someone out.

And congrats on getting the 640 for such a great price. IMHO it is the best smartphone value out there today.

rhapdog

Retired Senior Ambassador
Aug 26, 2014
Visit site
I'm running Windows 10 Mobile on my Lumia 640, and loving it. Yeah, I've got the GoPhone model, unlocked before I ever activated it. Once you put Windows 10 on it, there is no carrier obstruction so you may as well have an unlocked country variant. Best deal ever.

Welcome!

TechnoBill