Beastgrip or Snapzoom for Lumia 1020?

Crasstoe

Jan 3, 2014
Visit site
Hello all,

I've been a lurker on here for too long and it is now time for me to contribute!

A little bit about me, I am hugely impressed with the camera on the Lumia 1020, and also Windows Phone 8. I upgraded from a HTC Titan which was no slouch either, but the Nokia is light years ahead!

I am new to mobile photography of this magnitude (I think most people are!) and recently jumped on the UrbEx wagon and the 1020 is perfect. A sample to show how I am doing with a little practice with just the camera grip;

11633191516_0605127641_o.jpg

More can be found here; Flickr: Crasstoe's Photostream

With introductions out the way, now on to topic. I have been looking for ways to add reliable telephoto and macro abilities to the 1020 with minimum modification whilst keeping it simple. I want it to look good and not like some sort of homebrew rig that could break any minute, or that require setting up EVERY time I want to use it. I stumbled on Beastgrip, and also Snapzoom, both kickstarter projects that I unfortunately missed out on, however they are both due for online sales to start this year (Feb-March), and I have hit a roadblock, which is better?!

The beast grip is by far the most attractive with multiple accessories mounts and offers a 37mm attachment, which with DOF adapters can accomodate Prime lenses.
beastgrip2.jpg

Beastgrip universal lens adapter and rig system for camera phoneshomeUniversal, Adjustable, Modular... Works with IOS, Android, Windows and BlackBerry phones

The Snapzoom takes a simpler approach but suffers as a result, but allows you to clamp any optics, scopes, telescopes (prime lenses?) and simply clamp or unclamp your phone. This means ANY level of zoom is possible, but is it better?
2-20-2013snapzoom.jpg

Snapzoom

Both are around the same price delivered.

So what do you think?

Chris

Last edited:

MJThib

Mar 1, 2007
Visit site
First off, nice photo!