Eulerian Video Magnification for Revealing Subtle Changes in the World

Kim Diedrichsen

Mar 24, 2014
Visit site
Hi again! I just found this very interresting free software from the MIT labs.
It takes a video file and compares pixels to enhance/reveal Colour/movement not noticed by the human eye.
Example. a video of a sleeping baby reveals the heartbeat as pulsing colours, the minute colour change as the capillars get filled and drained with blood
with each heart beat shows very clearly.
The many applications for this software has not yet been tested, but you can try it for yourself and be on the leading edge on sceince.
Maybe something new about the secret life of plants or other almost static objects can be revealed.
It seems that the high sensor pixel count of the 1020 would be perfect for this software, but im no expert.
I have downloaded the 2 files required for the programme but im not clever enough to figure out what to do next, the software is supposed to have a
interface, but i only managed to find a command line promt and im panicking everytine i see those.
So im hoping someone here will find interrest in this and pick it up, and maybe post a short tutorial for the commandline inapt people.

Eulerian Video Magnification

MATLAB Compiler Runtime (MCR) - MATLAB Compiler - MathWorks Nordic

These are the links to the 2 downloads. you have to run a 64 bit computer to make it work.

Have fun.

thebcooper

Feb 11, 2014
Visit site
Very cool find!

It seems not to have an interface (not sure where you are seeing that).
If you open up the "README" in the "EVM_Matlab_bin-1.1" folder, and scroll down to "To Process your own videos", it will give you the instructions on what to do.
If on windows, you would open up the start menu and type in "cmd" (without quotes) and press enter. It will bring up a command prompt for you.
Take a note of whatever directory the extracted files are in (mainly "evm.exe"), and then type into the command prompt:
Code: