Bright spot on screen

wspaw

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
I've been using the 1520 for a couple months now and have had a recurring problem with a bright spot on the display. You can see it most vividly when the image rendered on that spot is white - like the blank part of a screen with a white background. When there's nothing to light, like a black or very dark screen, it's not there. As I scroll I can see it clearly as the displayed content moves across it.

I've returned two1520s with the exact same issue in the exact same spot on the screen - about 1.5 inches north and slightly west of center. I'm on my 3rd phone now, as this seems to reappear after a bit of use - I've tested each phone at the store before leaving and the spot wasn't there.

It's most easily seen on something like the reading mode screen on Unibeam - a plain white screen.

Haven't heard of anyone else having this issue, but, it's driving me nuts...

Pete

Retired Moderator
Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I had three small bright spots on my 8X. It never caused me any problem at all, I just lived with it.

wpnokia920

Nov 13, 2012
Visit site
I had same issue on my 1520 returned it got a replacement and its been fine. The spot was so bright on a white background it caught my eye everytime, once you found it you couldn't look away. Interestingly the build date on phone with spots was like 8-13. Replacement was 11-13. Phone wasn't even out that early but it was produced apparently.

wspaw

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
I had same issue on my 1520 returned it got a replacement and its been fine. The spot was so bright on a white background it caught my eye everytime, once you found it you couldn't look away. Interestingly the build date on phone with spots was like 8-13. Replacement was 11-13. Phone wasn't even out that early but it was produced apparently.