Nokia Lumia 1520 802.11ac 5GHz wifi issues

Citizen X

May 11, 2013
Visit site
The Nokia Lumia 1520 specs indicate that it is equipped with an 802.11ac receiver. Unfortunately it does not seem to work on the 5 GHz band. I just started playing with an Asus RT-AC68U 802.11ac router today. It's a beast of a router and costs over $200. It's a bit complicated so I can't say for sure I'm doing everything correctly, but I seem to have replicated the problems others on the internet have had with 802.11ac. My phone can't even see the 5 GHz channel even with SSID broadcasting turned on. 2.4 GHz seems okay. WPA-2 security was active during all tests. I am running the latest firmware version 3.0.0.4.374_4561-g5f5c8d8. I will keep tinkering and let you guys know if anything changes... good or bad.

I wanted to start this thread so people can list their 802.11ac routers and post whether it works on the 5 GHz band or not. I will be in touch with Nokia and Asus about this. We need to make some noise.

cariocap

Dec 27, 2013
Visit site
I have an Asus RT-AC66U (5GHz capable) and I connect my Lumia 1520 to it using the 5GHz channel.

Try to restart the phone or check the attached configurations bellow of my 5GHz channel.

asus1.jpg

asus2.jpg

Citizen X

May 11, 2013
Visit site
Sorry man. Busy at the moment. But I tried some of your settings and got 5 GHz to connect. I will do some speed tests and report my findings. One of the changes I did was my SSID was hidden. I made it visible like you. I'm not sure if that's what the issue was. Like I said I will do some analysis and report back. Thanks for your speedy help!

Pete

Retired Moderator
Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Windows Phone 8 doesn't like to connect to hidden SSID networks - there's no way of manually adding a hidden WiFi network in the settings. It may be possible to hide the SSID after you've added it to the phone, but it may not be practicable.