Screen Sensitivity Issue Status in Cyan (1520)

anon(8967500)

Jul 11, 2014
Visit site
As a long term windows fan, and now a massive fan of Nokia wp8.1 and having run every form of beta since Microsoft started the practice. I work in IT my last phone was a 920 and two weeks ago I switched to the 1520 for the higher speed, camera, battery life and screen real estate. I immediately noticed a quirk and have to disagree with it being a fault. The quirk, if you scroll with a very light touch it registers as a press. I feel because the screen is so big and the 1520 so sensitive to touch we start to stroke the screen in too wishy washy a manner. The moment I go back to touching the screen with normal force the false registers stop. I noticed it first when I would half heartily punch in my pin code instead of proper presses. It also explains some of the inconsistency. Also I don't pocket the phone, its in a fob in my shirt pocket so never cops any bending force.

Timbre70

Jul 10, 2014
Visit site
if you want to scroll, avoid lightly touching the screen and letting go; put your whole weight of finger down on screen, then swipe over. If you want to tap, lightly touch screen and let go quickly = it will activate selection.

In IT-Support Personnel's speak, it's a user problem. LOL.....

Play around with your screen a bit and you will understand what I am trying to say.

Timbre70

Jul 10, 2014
Visit site

Thank you very much! I first did the squeeze-thing only, and with little effect. Then, after turning off double tap to awake, the problem with my 1520 clicking when swiping is completely gone. It also removed the annoying ~0.5 sec freeze on the homescreen when unlocking it, which have forced me to unlock, then wait for a tiny bit - and then scroll, half of the time ending up opening som random app.

This is my conclusion after using it for a couple of hours. I'll be sure to update if the problem returns - which I'm actually rather convinced it won't.