This started a couple days ago when I was on the phone with a customer. I started playing with my phone as I was waiting for something and then the whole thing locked up. I was confused, then it rebooted. Sofar, it wasn't much of an issue. The phone suddenly is working on an update. I was confused but I let it go. At some point during the process, the phone reboots. Not a big deal, then it comes back with a status of 1 of 6 and it isn't moving. Phone reboots, same 1 of 6 thing happens again and we keep repeating this process. Eventually I get it to the start screen and then doing most everything causes it to lock up and restart. Eventually the reboots just kept cycling every time the phone starts up. Through some effort and trying hard I just said screw it, took out the SD card and used the Lumia Recovery Tool.

That was challenging but it managed to get the phone to...not work. The reboots seemed to be a little more predictable and if I left out the SD card they didn't happen at random. They also happened less often if I plugged it into the wall socket as opposed to my computer. Cheesed off since I need the phone for work, I went to a Microsoft store and had them run diagnostics. They said the hardware is fine, but it was behind a version, so they update me in the store. Update passes and now WiFi can't see anything, then it locks up and reboots. After trying to sort out the whys, I just bought a 635 ("Burner") and said I can deal with this for now.

I'm trying to figure out what is left for me to try. I have Insider access so I can jump to Windows 10, but unless Office is finally available, I can't do most of my work that I need.

Any advice?
    06-24-2015 09:59 PM
    It's possible your phone got a virus or malware either from your computer or something on your SD card. If that's the issue, I'm not sure how to resolve it. Sorry I can't be of more help, I really wish I could. It's saddening to see such an amazing phone fail.
    06-24-2015 10:07 PM