music eq problem

genuine555

Jun 8, 2012
Visit site
I'm also surprized at the sound quality. Was buggered for not having the eq, but using these sony in-ear buds, it sounds amazingly clear and full.

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR-ED12...ag=hawk-future-20&ascsubtag=UUwpUvbUpU2284148

In fact, with the same headphones, the 520 sounds way better than the 710. Much more clear and much less distortion.
I always longed for an eq on the 710, because of the poor quality, but now I don't really miss it at all.

Albert Fish

Jan 1, 2014
Visit site
EQ are for douchebags. In real life situation.. you don't need eq.. I mean the tracks are well produced nowadays.. Get a decent pair of headphones.. and there you go!

(Trust me I'm working in the music production industry)

genuine555

Jun 8, 2012
Visit site
Part of that is true, but only part (trust me, I USED to work in the music industry). Mastering doesn't solely account for a clear sounding track. If the system outputting the mastered signal is CRAP, the song will also sound crap, and even if you use a good set of cans, it will sound pretty bad.

And then one more thing: no-one working in the music industry says eq is for DB's, cause EQ is the most important thing in ANY music production. Every production after the first sequencing stages, STARTS with EQ and ends with EQ in the mastering stages (mostly eq, and compression which is just a sophisticated way of eq-ing). But without EQ, you can't have a decent production, and you sure as heck can't have a decent mastering. So eq isn't for douchebags, rather for professionals.

And I mentioned I used the same headphones with the Lumia 710 and the 520...and the 710 sounds crap while the 520 sounds good, listening to the same mastered songs. So even with a good mastered track and a decent set of cans, if the system outputting the signal is crap, the track will sound crap.