Is 512 RAM enough for WP8?

George Jenkinson

Jul 25, 2013
Visit site
Hello, I'm new to WP8 and am quite tempted by the new lumia phones, I'm also not that tech savvy.

I currently have a Samsung Galaxy Ace 2, which is slow and very juddery; I don't play games or videos or listen to music, I use it for email, calls and twitter with some photo editing.

My question is, is 512RAM enough to run WP8 smoothly without delays and loading apps/programmes?

I know the phone isn't out yet, but any thoughts would be welcome.

Cheers.

Jnbs

Mar 20, 2012
Visit site
Ohh dude. You'll love WP8.. In my opinion, for your usage you will be more than satisfied with the L625.. I have had a couple of WP8 devices and the differences in between a 512MB and a 1GB RAM device are pretty much non-existent. I am a gamer and Asphalt 7 run smoothly on my Lumia 620 and well a bit better on a Lumia 810 (T-mobile variant of Lumia 820) which has 1GB.. You won't regret getting a WP8 even if you then use it for more than "email, calls, twitter and photo editing."

Muessig

Moderator Team Leader
Sep 30, 2012
Visit site
Hey George, fantastic to see you here, welcome to WPCentral!

We've recently been discussing on the boards here how 99% of all games / other apps can be ran on a 512MB WP8 device. That means you'll be able to play basically any game out there without any lag or juddering. Better yet, all Windows Phone devices - yeah even the 512MB ones - are infamous for their snappy performance. It's something you have to see to believe. I don't think you'll have a single problem.

fatclue_98

Retired Moderator
Apr 1, 2012
Visit site
Hello, I'm new to WP8 and am quite tempted by the new lumia phones, I'm also not that tech savvy.

I currently have a Samsung Galaxy Ace 2, which is slow and very juddery; I don't play games or videos or listen to music, I use it for email, calls and twitter with some photo editing.