Can't connect to hidden SSID wifi networks

redrotors

Oct 5, 2012
Visit site
I am no Wifi expert or a network geek.

I don't understand why you have SSID on. Isn't SSID a separate identification number listed on the bottom of your router that you have to enter to connect to it? Are you in an area that you need SSID? Can't you just turn the SSID off and just have a 12 to 14 letter password to connect to your router? Who's going to hack a 12 to 14 digit password?

Maybe I am way off base here> :D

Maybe you are thinking about the MAC address?

Usually expressed like this
00:00:00:00:00:00
where the 0's can be numbers or letters.
AFAIK every wifi device is assigned a unique MAC.

A wifi router security feature is MAC address filtering. I added the MAC address of my phone to the allow list on my router. I use MAC address filtering but I also turned that off during attempts to get the 710 to connect.

The other hidden networks I tried to connect to one uses filtering one is "allow any".

Last edited:

redrotors

Oct 5, 2012
Visit site
SSID is the network ID. It is required for a WiFi network, and can't be turned off. However it can be hidden. There is little security benefits from it though. The devices communicating with the AP still broadcast the SSID and thus it can be found with the right tools. A good password and change of passwords is the only security that helps most.

This is true, any decent "hacker" can discover a hidden SSID name but it is still an issue for me when @ work and need to connect to a hidden network. I don't think I can convince the admin. that hidden SSID is worthless or get them to unhide it just because my phone has an issue.

redrotors

Oct 5, 2012
Visit site
I was going to ask if you had MAC address filtering on. It would seem you've already turned it off during your diagnostics. I do remember some people were having issues with the MAC address changing on their Windows Phone devices, hence why it could have been a problem.