I did this last night and it worked well. Its a little harder that just plugging in to Zune but if you are tired of waiting and are a little adventures go for it I did. For me it worked as advertised was fairly simple to do. I will be testing this week and will report back on the results.

Link > How to force update Nokia Lumia 800 to latest firmware 12070 | SymbianTweet
    CocoaBlossom likes this.
    03-17-2012 07:47 AM
    Just did it and it works fine. Really simple to do. Thanks
    03-20-2012 12:19 PM
    Hello I am new in this page. I have a doubt if I force the update will I receive any other updates that will be available after this one?.Thank you in advance
    03-25-2012 11:26 AM
    I followed the instructions and had no issues. Orange UK and rumour has it they aren't even looking at this firmware yet so I decided to stop waiting. My battery was okay beforehand to be honest but I wanted the audio improvements. That said it wasn't as good as it is now, I've been running a little test with 3g and wireless off unless required (using the toggle app pinned to start which is a Godsend) and current stats are:

Remaining : 55%
    Time remaining: 23 hours
    Time since last charge: 1 days 18 hours

Discharge is around 70 mA

That's with over 20 texts and maybe 30 mins total phone call time. Plus the odd bit of wireless/3g on when required and the normal checking the phone for messages etc. Hardly scientific but pretty good battery life I thought.
    03-27-2012 05:42 AM
    Just as an update, you can check when your carrier is releasing the update here:

Nokia Europe - Nokia Lumia 800 software update - Availability

Still quite a few 'waiting for approval' (including Orange UK)
    03-29-2012 12:31 AM
    Cgfdd
    04-26-2012 06:25 AM