Gave up on the Lumia 800

sleepyking

Apr 18, 2012
Visit site
I don't intend to bash Nokia or WP7 here, just wanted to voice my opinion on why I ultimately gave up on the Lumia 800.

first off, I have been wanting to get a WP7 phone since the first Samsung Focus was released. I even was ready to purchase at an AT&T store with cash on hand w/out the contract, only to come across an idiotic employee who said they don't sell any phones out the contract (even though they listed the out of contract price??)...anyway, that's another story.

anyhow, I decided to then wait once Nokia partnered w/ MS for these phones, and ultimately jumped on the Lumia 800 last month from an iPhone that I've been using for the past 3 years. I was amazed by how gorgeous this phone was once I received and started using it for the first time. and I will say I thought I would never go back to iOS.
then, my interest started falling apart over several things - one main thing being the battery issue many of you may know (even after the latest update).

the battery issue became such a deal breaker for me. I could not use the phone and enjoy it the way the user interface and functionalities was meant to be. I developed a habit of always going to settings just to see how much battery I had left, which was an annoying thing to do on its own, but even more annoying to see that the battery can drain from 90%, to 40%, to <20% w/ minimal use within a matter of hours. trust me, I have tested this for a few days by leaving my phone idle at work.