Wait wait.. did my Lumia just turn down the music volume FOR ME???

Lysander666

May 19, 2013
Visit site
So there I was listening to the new Havok album and things go quiet on the next song. What's going on, I thought, assuming a software glitch. But no, a warning had come up on the screen advising me against listening to music too loud lest I be victim to hearing damage.

Really? I mean... really? I have been listening to music on personal stereo devices for twenty years, do we really need this cotton-wool nannying from Nokia [or are they just worried about getting sued?]. Is there any way to override this?

Daniel Ratcliffe

Dec 5, 2011
Visit site
I've had it happen to me, at least I think the same as your circumstances. Basically, some sort of glitch between the headphone connection and the phone caused the volume down button to be considered held thus turning down the volume to 0, while also locking out use of the back button (because the back button clears the little pop up that appears when you press volume down). Soft reset fixed it. Let me know if this fixes your problem.

ssapre

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
That comes only once after you reset the phone. So if you are new to WP and this is first time you are going beyond 20 in the volume setting, it will show you the message. normally it doesn't come again.

AndyCalling

Apr 15, 2013
Visit site
How is this possible? How can my phone know what volume it is playing at when it hasn't asked me what the resistance of my headphones is? Seems pretty loony to me.

ssapre

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
The notification is for phone volume setting and not for connected headphone volume level. if you want to change level on headphone, it should have that built in if provided.

AndyCalling

Apr 15, 2013
Visit site