Lumia 920 on T-mobile?

Nov 20, 2012
Visit site
I just unlocked my Lumia 920(I had been using it on Att Gophone for the past 4 months) and I just went and got my T-mobile Sim card today
and popped it in.

Voice works perfectly fine but I have two questions

1. What are the correct Internet and MMS apn settings for my 920 to be used on T-mobile US?

2. What kind of speeds can i expect with the 920 on T-mobile?

Thanks,
Micah

Jazmac

Jun 20, 2011
Visit site
I don't think you'll be touching LTE on Tmo. I think I read HSPA-+ is the best you will get which isn't the worse you could do.

metalchick719

Oct 4, 2012
Visit site
You can either try this:

APN: epc.tmoble.com (all other fields blank)
Cellular Settings: choose 3G
Internet APN: APN: epc.tmobile.com (all other fields blank)
MMS APN: APN: epc.tmobile.com
MMSC URL: http://mms.msg.eng/t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc
MMS port: 80
Max MMS size: 1024 (all other fields blank)

If this doesn't work, you can always download the Access Point app. That's what I used on my 920 when the settings above didn't work for me.

B H

Nov 18, 2012
Visit site
I got my 920 unlocked and used it since May 9th (the official unlock date) on T-mobile. It was running level 1314.

The good: LTE worked great. I'm in DC, an LTE area. It's also a re-farmed 1900 4G area. At work the 1900 isn't totally re-farmed yet so I did see some Edge there. There is no AWS band for UMTS, only LTE, hence the need to be in a re-farmed area to fall back on 4G. Of course I used the Nokia Access Point app and just selected T-Mobile LTE to get it running. MMS and everything worked perfectly, EXCEPT mobile hotspot.
The bad: Mobile hotspot doesn't work. If you get it going you break the MMS. Lots of threads here about it - I'm sure someone will sort it out eventually.