Unlocking Rogers Lumia 920

efrancesco

Jul 21, 2013
Visit site
I've been searching for a reasonably priced unlock service for my Rogers Lumia 920 that I wish to use in Spain but most unlock services are priced at $20 and above. Searching on eBay I find quite a few sellers offering cheap AT&T unlock codes, $4 and less, but Rogers Lumia 920 unlock codes are priced way higher. Does anyone know of a reasonably priced unlock service for Rogers Lumia 920?

Also, do I have to reset my phone to original state, prior to "Portico", for the unlock codes to work? And would the unlock be permanent? Otherwise, would it be safe to upgrade after unlock?

I'm new to Windows Phone so any help would be appreciated.

efrancesco

Jul 21, 2013
Visit site
What happens when you call Rogers and ask for the unlock code?

I'm getting the phone as a gift and Rogers won't give the unlock code unless the contract is over so I've no option but to use a third-party service.

It's $50+tax for an unlock code from Rogers. I don't know if you have to be a Rogers customer to have them give you the unlock code...
Yes, $50 is the price I have been quoted for the unlock code once the contract is over.

theotherskipper

Mar 16, 2013
Visit site
I'm on the same boat as you. The only difference is that I intend to use it on a different carrier here in Canada. Anyway, I searched a fair bit and I didn't find any place that was lower priced ($15 USD) than cellunlocker.net so imo that's as "reasonable" as it can get.

Also, do I have to reset my phone to original state, prior to "Portico", for the unlock codes to work? And would the unlock be permanent? Otherwise, would it be safe to upgrade after unlock?

I was wondering about this as well, but my guess is that unlike iPhones it would be a permanent unlock that is unaffected by future upgrades. I hope I'm right. Maybe one of our learned members can confirm this?

I paid for the code earlier today so I'll keep you posted on how it works out.

Iain_S