Thinking of going from Lumia 1020 to 925. Advice please

undulose

Dec 20, 2013
Visit site
I am also an amateur photographer but I chose the 1520 over the 1020. For other things, I am happy with my decision except for low light photography. I would love to have that wider-aperture camera that the 1020 possess. ;( I can also edit DNG files from what I get with the images on my phone.

Sent from my Nokia Lumia 1520 (RM-937 Malaysia) using Tapatalk

Guytronic

Ambassador Team Leader
Nov 4, 2013
Visit site
Coming from the bottom up,

I found the 925 very capable in the picture taking arena.
My preference is to shoot in black and white for contrast effect.
The Pureview cam on the 925 in my opinion is very satisfying for my use.

Color shots are very well balanced I thought.
Haven't done a lot of low light work with the 925 because I'm still trying to understand what "low light" is for this piece of photographic hardware.
I'm thinking low light is a room lit mid day with shaded light thru a window.
I dunno exactly because I don't have a working light meter anymore.

All in all the pixel graininess is minimal with this phone camera under ideal conditions.

As far as the speaker performance;
I'm coming from a Lumia 521 and the speaker on that phone is stellar.
The 925 has less output that sounds somewhat "tinny" to me.
It is acceptable if the hand is cupped over the speaker or sound is bounced from a hard surface.
I've never heard it distorted in any way.

eruptflail

Aug 12, 2012
Visit site
12 to 18 hours isn't awful if you're taking pictures all the time. The biggest complaint I've heard about the 925 is the weak vibrate. I hardly ever feel my phone go off and if that's important to you, this phone isn't for you. As for the zoom, I was at Niagra Falls a couple weeks ago and haven't noticed awful quality of my pictures, but I wished I would have had the L1020 for it.

kingenu

Sep 26, 2013
Visit site