Landscapes Hazy

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site
Hi mooreted,

Have you seen this thread? It has a lot of photography tips. Please check it out and see if it helps.

If you have further questions afterwards, please let us know.

mooreted

Aug 1, 2013
Visit site
What I'm struggling with, I guess, is the other landscapes I took when I was standing in broad daylight look pretty good.

From the thread, I get the idea that phones aren't that great at distances.

I have played with an ISO of 800 and increasing the exposure time, and that seems to help. I guess I should pick better subjects and not stand in the shadows photographing subjects bathed in light.

Just thought someone might have a trick up their sleeve.

Sent from my easy chair using brainwaves.

MikeLip

Apr 20, 2013
Visit site
I can't see your pics for whatever reason, but I've been a photographer for a while and I can make a couple quick guesses;

Stand in the shade. If you are in direct sunlight, sun falling on your lens can wash out a picture. Or hold your hand in a way as to keep sun off the lens. This is why a pro photographer ALWAYS uses a lens shade - they prevent lens flare which can appear as haze. Lens flare isn't always those neat multi-sided discs and streamers across a photo. It can simply muck up a picture as reduced contrast and a foggy effect.