I need a replacement phone for my battle-worn 928, and I am in a rather precarious situation! Which should I get?

• Thread starter Windows Central Question
  • Start date
W

Windows Central Question

I need a replacement phone for my battle-worn 928, and I am in a rather precarious situation!

Salutations, Windows community! Alas, the reason I am here today is not your outstanding videos. I am in need of advice. The screen of my beloved 928 just shattered after a rather jarring fall onto concrete, and I am in need of a replacement (the old girl is going on three years now, so it's probably for the best). I am a soon-to-be college student who has a strong chance of studying overseas (Cambridge/Oxford/St. Andrews) despite my relatively humble origins. Nonetheless, I will be spending about another year in the U.S. (regardless if I get in or not), so integration with my Verizon sim card is a must (it's probably a micro sim; feel free to scrutinize my blatant technological ignorance). My question to you is: what phone would be serve the goal of daily communication and web browsing, as well as typing papers, etc.? Obviously, I am not the type who plays many games, but a fast processor, long battery life, and good camera are highly important to me. My instinctive favorite, despite its gaudiness, is the white and gold Lumia 930. But, with me being on Verizon, I'm not sure if it will have issues with frequency, etc.. I've also given thought to the Samsung Ativ SE (behind the times, I know, but it has a swappable battery and expandable memory plus Smart TV compatibility). I have also given thought to the tried and true Lumia Icon, but seeing as it's no longer available from Verizon, would it function the same if I bought an unlocked version on Amazon and inserted my old 928's micro sim? The 730 currently available from Verizon seems a bit lackluster compared to the potent flagship devices. I know this situation is rather sticky (Verizon being a primary instigator of this con