Lumia 930 camera...

thatuxguy

Apr 18, 2014
Visit site
So after a day with the 930 I'm finding myself a little underwhelmed by the camera.

The images taken in comparison to my iphone 5s are not that great and are looking terribly grainy. Considering the camera is meant to be 20mp, I'm a little confused to why we don't have the option to utilise the full 20mp camera. But are stuck with 5mp and a 16mp image to crop?!

I am new to this new Lumia experience so maybe someone can shed some light on apps or ways to improve my images.

Other than this camera issue the phone feels great to use, and feels well crafted.

Thanks in advance.

thatuxguy

Apr 18, 2014
Visit site
Ok so I have had a little while to read up on how these cameras work.

Nokia have decided that 5mp is the sweet spot, why not 8mp, any way the photos taken are downscaled/sampled to from 16mp to these 5mp images for ease of sharing.

Well that makes sense. However does not explain why my 5mp images look rubbish. So if I want to actually access the full 5376 x 3024 (16mp) image I need to access it via a computer.

This explains why I was advised to use lightroom!

Well its the weekend so time to play and get more associated with my new Lumia 930.

Mizmo

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
1. more mp doesn't mean better quality
2. if the image is grainy more mp will make it probably even more grany

I didn't read much into it but I think the 5mp picture is not only a resized version of the 16mp one but it uses the full 20mp for oversampling so in theory you get a better picture. 16MP is highres without oversampling and 16MP DNG is RAW for later editing in lightroom or whatever software you use

didn't take much pictures yet but if I compare a couple of my landscape pictures, the 5MP version ist a little bit sharper than the 16MP one (16MP or resized to 5MP doesn't matter)

Blacklac

Nov 10, 2011
Visit site