Data usage?

Matthew Moore4

Jan 12, 2014
Visit site
So I'm either going to switch to ATT for the 1520 or hold out for the mysterious Icon, but either way, I'm wondering what type of data plan I'll need. I do not ever stream music, and when I do stream a movie I'm connected to Wi-Fi.

I never download songs, movies, or Apps unless I'm on Wi-Fi. Data usage would be primarily email (maybe 10-15 emails per day) and Social Networking.

Think I could get away with a 300 mb plan on ATT or 500 mb on Verizon? Do LiveTiles accrue a lot of data since they're constantly updating?

Thanks for your help. I'm new to WP.

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I got away with the 300 MB plan earlier on ATT.

My email usage was much lighter, BUT web browsing and social networking on cellular was likely heavier.

but needless to say it doesn't leave as much room for error.

Live Tiles update every so often for more static info and frequently for notifications. They shouldn't burn through data unless you use an app that uses a lot of data to update the tile. (e.g. Bing Weather pulls a few bytes to update the weather tile, yet Tumblr pulls pictures and other stuff to update its tile. and obviously uses more. (and thats where small tiles and background tasks options come into play))

EDIT: Important detail I forgot is that I have a French ROM not the original US ATT one on my 920 meaning I have Data Sense. I kept a close watch on my Data Usage and tuned it accordingly. You may not have that luxury.

Last edited:

Gawain

May 18, 2011
Visit site
So I'm either going to switch to ATT for the 1520 or hold out for the mysterious Icon, but either way, I'm wondering what type of data plan I'll need. I do not ever stream music, and when I do stream a movie I'm connected to Wi-Fi.

I never download songs, movies, or Apps unless I'm on Wi-Fi. Data usage would be primarily email (maybe 10-15 emails per day) and Social Networking.