Nokia Lumia Icon Bugs and Defects

Mr Hyde

Feb 28, 2013
Visit site
Regarding camera flash...

Open camera app. Tap the flash status icon (circle with lightning bolt). It cycles from 'on' to 'auto' to 'flash off' .

To turn off auto focus assist lamp. Open camera app. Tap the three dots in the menu (...) to open full menu. Select 'Photo Settings...'
Scroll down to Focus Assist Light field and set it to off. Save and exit

Robinsonmac

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Ive noticed a camera bug, though maybe it was just a device issues so swpped and have same probelm. Maybe cause im new to WP8 but I cannot seem to find a way to turn off the camera flash. Ive used toggle to make sure its off, used stock camera app to turn off used Nokia Procam to turn off and everytime I take a picture the flash goes off. Wouldnt be an issue in low light, but when lighting is good the flash shouldnt be used. Any thoughts??
they actually swapped a phone at a store because they didn't know how to turn of the focus assist light? Wow !😵

Kieta

Jan 18, 2013
Visit site
Well, I was mistaken on my router. I have the Linksys E3200 and no new firmware is out there. I did make some changes to my wifi setting on the 5Ghz band to see if that corrects it. I don't know if this phone connects through that or the 2.4Ghz band. I didn't get a chance to test it out by going outside but I will this evening. If not Tomato makes a custom firmware for this router and i might give that a try.

Starrbuck

Feb 18, 2014
Visit site
Thanks guys that was it!
What benefits does that feature have? And should I leave it on?

Auto-focus is a feature of digital cameras that allows them to focus correctly on a subject. It enhances the quality of the photo over fixed-focus cameras and allows for close-ups (or the even closer macro shots).

Phones use passive auto-focus with contrast measurement. This means that the camera needs contrast to focus and have problems focusing on a blank wall or in low light conditions.