Those who are freshly fallen off the android wagon

TozyJay

Feb 21, 2014
Visit site
(New guy here)

I'm also migrating over to Windows Phone from Android. I'm a .NET developer by trade so I plan to take a stab at native Windows Phone development (none of this web app nonsense). I still have a couple Android devices but I plan to stick with WP8 for my everyday phone. With the gradual integration of the various Windows platforms, I see a ton of potential for app development.

I'm a power user on Android (roots, ROMs, the whole bit) but I'm a huge fan of simple elegance of the WP8 platform. Having to hack, slash, and flash to get a decent user experience on Android was getting old!

radmanvr

Nov 19, 2013
Visit site
I feel like we are a church and there are people everyday coming here ready or curious about converting.

Welcome to the dark side. If you and your friends are planning on getting WP yall will love the group/room functions. You can share just about anything. Notes, Text Docs, PPTS, Grocery List, Things to do, pictures custom name for room, example my wife and I's room is called Decepticons.

Also if you are a pandora user when you get WP dont use Pandora. Go for metro radio. It uses pandora's API and you have unlimited skips without commercials.

manicottiK

Nov 24, 2011
Visit site
Not sure what people are talking about when they mentions learning curve. WP is right up there with iOS as far as a simple OS to use.
Maybe it's an "unlearning curve" as folks who've learned to do things like turn WiFi, Bluetooth, and GPS off when not in use to extend battery life learn to do nothing because Windows Phone manages it better (and offers fewer opportunities for poorly designed apps to waste power in the background).