I have no experience with window phone. I have had android and currently have ios but I'm looking for something new. I have been reading and doing research and now I have a question about notifications. I keep reading that the live tiles only update every half hour. Doesn't seem so "live". My question is will the phone notify me when I get a text or email as soon as it comes through?? I would hate to think that email only gets pushed every half hour.
    02-28-2014 08:56 PM
    That title should read "future wp owner with a simple ?"
    02-28-2014 08:57 PM
    You'll get notified, but if you don't have it on you when it pops...see the other 213 threads on the lack of a notification option. No big deal for some, really big deal for me. My only REAL substantive complaint about the phone so far, coming from an S4.

If you used XDA, the audience here is much smaller, so answers to questions do get answered, but not always with the speed and specificity you get at XDA...so hang tough...
    02-28-2014 09:08 PM
    That's what I meant there are lots of threads about it so it worries Me. When you say have it on when it pops do you mean turned on or like do you mean awake like screen lit up?
    02-28-2014 09:14 PM
    Notification and tiles are slightly different things. Tiles generally show some kind of information, like how many unread emails you have or how many people are waiting to continue playing some game with you or what the current weather is.

Notifications are one time messages, like "you just got an email" or "a tornado is headed your way".

If a notification comes in while the phone is powered up (even if the screen is turned off) the screen will come on briefly and show the message and may vibrate or make a sound.

If you miss a notification message, the tile will still most likely indicate that there is information for you, but, of course, it all depends on how the app is designed.