Was Glance the Reason the Icon was "Delayed?"

savagelizards

Feb 7, 2014
Visit site
Day 11 with my Icon, and I am becoming quite happy with it. The only major frustration I still feel is when my phone chimes for some reason or other and I have to drop what I am doing and head to the start screen and begin scanning tiles to find out why. Hopefully 8.1 will solve that, but as a WP newbie I have been scanning the threads and noticing how many posts there are from folks with 928s and 822s who won't make the move to the Icon without glance support.

After rolling this around in my mind, I was reading a post on cases and I recalled that when I was in the Verizon store they had several different cases for the Icon, and the rep remarked that they never had that many cases available for a phone on launch - even for the Galaxy S4. I remember at the time thinking that that's because everyone was expecting the phone to hit the market a month or more earlier (remember all those "leaked launched dates" that came and went without the phone even being acknowledged by Verizon?).

So I am putting two and two together and speculating that something on the phone was failing testing, thus causing the phone to miss planned launch dates, and that those failures were somehow traced back to the Glance feature. After failing to overcome the issue, Glance was then disabled so the phone could launch. Thus the explanation about "hardware limitations" and the comment that Glance could still be available at a future date.

Pure speculation here, but my guess is that Nokia tried to fix it and just couldn't - so we shouldn't be expecting Glance support in the future.

How do you feel about Icon if Glance is never available? Do you think the Glance issue delayed the phone, and if so do you still expect the feature to make an appearance?

TheJoester09

Mar 16, 2012
Visit site