08-03-2014 10:21 PM
34 12
tools
    hello all, I recently got my ICON a week ago, and have been waiting for the official 8.1 update since. Obviously, I'm tired of waiting so i wanted to update via the developers preview. However after reading a few threads, I've become a bit hesitant to upgrade and I'm in need for a little reassurance lol. Here are my concerns:

1) battery life is said to be dramatically decreased

2) upgrading to the official 8.1 from 8.1dp would require downgrading to 8.0 via hard reset (I'm a novice when it comes to this kind of stuff and it follows that that's a potential headache i would like to avoid)

3) 8.1dp is generally stable?

4) I had a couple more concerns, but Im drawing a blank right now =p

Lastly, are there any other pertinent steps, aside from the normal 8.1dp update procedure, that you guys think I should do before or after I upgrade?
    07-31-2014 07:59 PM
    I thought Icon came with 8.1?
    07-31-2014 08:10 PM
    1)yes
    2)maybe
    3)yes
    07-31-2014 08:12 PM
    I thought Icon came with 8.1?
    930 did not Icon
    07-31-2014 08:18 PM
    Didn't MS just recently temporarily suspend the Developer Preview program?
    07-31-2014 08:19 PM
    930 did not Icon

Ooh thanks for clearing that up
    07-31-2014 08:20 PM
    Didn't MS just recently temporarily suspend the Developer Preview program?
    I hope not! Lol I haven't upgraded yet.. And I'm in dire need of that notification center and the swype counterpart
    07-31-2014 08:26 PM
    1)yes
    2)maybe
    3)yes
    how bad of a drop off is it? Does the benefit of the upgrade outweigh the battery life loss?
    07-31-2014 08:29 PM
    how bad of a drop off is it? Does the benefit of the upgrade outweigh the battery life loss?
    it does for me. I usually still have 50% at the end of the day.
    jedge likes this.
    07-31-2014 09:13 PM
    Don't do it, it over heats with location services turned on and lags. Wait for the official update to cyan.