Official 8.1/Denim for the Icon?

Kieran Coghlan

Dec 12, 2014
Visit site
This post is not meant to rub anything in anyone's face, so please don't take it as that...
However, I have a Verizonn Icon on long-term loan from a friend who used to work for Nokia. He left Nokia few months ago. I had been talking a lot about wanting to try out WP (I'm a long time Android user) and he said I could borrow this phone for a while to demo it.
Well, the phone is (seems to be) running Lumia Denim!
I've had it for a couple weeks now. As I've said though, I'm a newbie to WP (loving it so far though) so I don't know how to do a lot of things.
Two things in particular I'd like to demo are 4K video recording and the "Hey Cortana" feature. I can't find how to activate either. Any assistance would be awesome. I'd be happy to try out other features and report back to the forum if anyone is curious.
wp_ss_20141218_0001.jpgwp_ss_20141217_0001.jpg
Thanks!
KC

Last edited:

Trent Vann

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
On the Extras screen, if you scroll down some you'll see the build date. I have one of these as well but just with Cyan. The build date on mine is 10/7/2014. Just curious how much later yours is? My firmware is 02061.00086.14405.24010 so yours does look newer there.

Kieran Coghlan

Dec 12, 2014
Visit site
Keep in mind that this firmware came from within Nokia. My friend is a former Nokia engineer, this was a personal phone of his. He had one of the software guys flash it with their most recent build before he left the company.

Indistinguishable

Nov 16, 2012
Visit site
Keep in mind that this firmware came from within Nokia. My friend is a former Nokia engineer, this was a personal phone of his. He had one of the software guys flash it with their most recent build before he left the company.

Thanks for the pictures and story, Kieran. Quick question - do you have the ability to use Double Tap to Wake on your Icon?

Trent Vann

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site