What are the drawbacks to using an unlocked Lumia?

Gene Collins

Jul 1, 2014
Visit site
Unlocked Lumia Icon

I currently have a Lumia 925 and I am looking at maybe going to an Icon but I have AT&T. I have never used an unlocked phone before so I am wondering what the drawbacks may be. I know the phone will work with the AT&T SIM but will I be able to keep the phone up to date?

Tyranade

Oct 23, 2014
Visit site
Re: Unlocked Lumia Icon

I have a Lumia 930 which is unlocked. I got the 8.1 update without a problem straight from Microsoft. I'm in the UK though, not sure if that would make a difference.
I only ever had unlocked phones, before this it was Android and I've always got the updates.
I think it is down to the maker of the unlocked phone to decide what handsets get an update,- in this case Microsoft.

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site

Unlocked and unbranded are two different things. An unbranded device that isn't tied to any carrier will get updates directly from Microsoft.

An unlocked device with carrier branding will get updates when the original carrier pushes out the updates. The Icon is Verizon branded only. No other carriers ever sold it. It is sold GSM unlocked but is branded to Verizon, so you won't get updates until Verizon releases updates.

You will also only get HSDPA+ data on AT&T, not LTE.

Sent from my Nokia Lumia 920 via Tapatalk

Tyranade

Oct 23, 2014
Visit site

Thanks for clarifying this 😊 My 930 is unbranded then since it has never been locked to a carrier. Personally I think its the way to go, since then you're in charge, not some carrier. Not sure what you pay for contract in the US but here you can end up paying a hefty premium for your device when you get it on contract.

anon(7901790)

Aug 5, 2013
Visit site