Anyone use an SSD as their primary drive?

SnailUK

Mar 1, 2012
Visit site
+1 for SSDs. Since i got a new work laptop with an SSD, i wonder why i never got one before. Everyone at work is busy upgrading their laptops with them, and getting a whole new lease of life from old hardware.

If you need space, get an SSD for the primary drive, and a monster HDD for everything else.

Best money you'll ever spend on a computer IMO.

bjd223

Jan 2, 2013
Visit site
I have been using an SSD as an OS drive since 2008. Usually In some type of RAID configuration.

I have had lots of different drives from lots of different companies. I would personally stay away from OCZ and spend a few extra bucks on an Intel drive if its mission critical. Samsung has been doing well too I have a Samsung 840 pro 512 GB and it's pretty nice. I also currently have an Intel 520 series which is a Sandforce controller. I would only recommend an Intel drive if you want a Sandforce controller as they write custom firmware that has less bugs.

I have had lots of OCZ drives 3 x Vertexs, 2 x Vertex 2's and 2 x Vertex 4's and they are ok but need lots of firmware updates and have had to reinstall Windows more than I wanted too. But the price is nice if you don't mind a few hiccups.

The older I get the less time I have to fix my PC so now I use Intel for better uptime on my desktop PC.

NTUser

Jul 8, 2013
Visit site
My main has a Crucial M4 128GB SSD that I use for Windows, programs, etc. and a 1TB WD HDD for storage. I love SSDs, I would have more if they weren't so expensive! I highly recommend an SSD, especially Crucial's. Windows 7 loads in nothing flat, all my programs open in seconds.

tmccaghren

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site
I am thinking of getting an SSD for my desktop before Windows 8 comes out then doing a clean install on it once I get my hands on Windows 8. I just wanted to know if there are others here that are using a SSD as the primary hard drive on their computer?