2012 Presidential Election, Cast Your Ballot Here!

Status
Not open for further replies.

scottcraft

Aug 1, 2011
Visit site
It's not a coincidence that the rural county's are red. They typically have the Jesus loving, evolution hating, gun toting types. Now, before you condemn me for saying that, know that I come from a small christian farming town (5k ppl) and have a hard working background. I wear cowboy boots, own guns, hunt, but I'm also a software developer and a nerd. (Weird eh? ). I know why they vote red and it's not because they value education and progress. They vote red because many are Christian literalists and this stems from a bigger education problem. Notice how the population areas of the US such as the ones I mentioned are generally democratic. Notice how those same areas have highly educated women, have high science research facilities and universities, and are furthest away from the bible belt, with exceptions of course.

I am very religous and I agree that the Christian right has caused issues. Too many Christians want to make religious and moral issues into government issues. Would you say there are many lower income/uneducated people in some of these larger cities you've mentioned that are just as consistent in voting democrat as many bible belt areas are in voting republican?

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site
I would classify myself as Libertarian. I am a fiscal conservative, but I believe that social issues are best left up to individuals, based upon their own personal religious beliefs or lack thereof.

ImmortalWarrior

Apr 30, 2011
Visit site
I would classify myself as Libertarian. I am a fiscal conservative, but I believe that social issues are best left up to individuals, based upon their own personal religious beliefs or lack thereof.

Isn't that the definition of freedom? The Christian right wants to take this away from you. This is why the Republicans are out of the question for me.

geekmaster

Apr 24, 2012