Technology improves every 6 months! How long do you keep yout cell phone?

CSJr1

Aug 15, 2012
Visit site
Forget the 18 month cycle, that only seems to work for desktop computers. With cell phone technology, the trend seems to be 6 months and even less before the next best thing is here. I feel kind of sorry for people who buy their phone off contract, only because the upfront cost and difficulty of continuing to buy the new tech. It must be hard for manufactures to try to keep up with the competition, but great for carriers that market new devices.

I wonder how long does the average smart phone user keep their phone. This is probably heavily dependent on if you are on contract or off.

I am a tech fiend and have to have latest and greatest. Even though I am on contract, I manage to make this happen. What about the community?

Last edited:

BIGPADDY

Sep 30, 2012
Visit site
I just recently purchased the Nokia Lumia 920 red off contract don't do contracts sim free for me and I'm planning to keep the device for four to five years :smile:

CSJr1

Aug 15, 2012
Visit site
I just recently purchased the Nokia Lumia 920 red off contract don't do contracts sim free for me and I'm planning to keep the device for four to five years :smile:

Wow. I don't think I can keep my phone that long if I wanted. Too much wear and tear, drops etc. You must be very careful with your phone and have extended warranty.

Hammered Pizza

Apr 11, 2012
Visit site
I have a Lumia 920. Will probably sell it shortly before Nokia's new flagship arrives (for maximum return), piddle about with my old LG E900 for a month, then get the latest and greatest all over again.

This way only costs me about ?150 every year - saved up through great value SIM-only deals.

nottechsmart

Dec 20, 2012
Visit site