Check out latest discoveries and more with the New Scientist magazine on Windows 8 | Windows Phone Central

I am a scientist and have never heard of this. Probably because it's popular science. Popular science could be very interesting, but judging from the headlines on the screenshot, they go all popular with only little science.
    06-11-2014 04:12 AM
    Gold is worth something because it's rather rare, and if you've seen some in real life, you should know that they actually look nice. (And, they have some practical use to boot.)

In fact, money was initially backed by gold. Money is supposed to represent gold.

Well, now that the US doesn't back the USD with gold anymore, all we get are some promises. The financial system nowadays is based o trust.
    You're half right.

Gold is still, to this day, the basis of currency. The US and UK and other countries have tonnes of the stuff. It's not as rare as people make it out to be.

The only reason why gold became such a high standard and worth something is because of looks, no other reason. We were a barter system, then currency because easier to use.

As for today's markets. It's still based on trade. Money is just the foundation of it and gold is still the bedrock. I know you use the word promises but it's a bit more complicated than that. Also the US still believes it's currency is the basis for the world. It's not, gold is.
    06-11-2014 04:23 AM
    Check out latest discoveries and more with the New Scientist magazine on Windows 8 | Windows Phone Central

I am a scientist and have never heard of this. Probably because it's popular science. Popular science could be very interesting, but judging from the headlines on the screenshot, they go all popular with only little science.
    New Scientist has had some bad headlines over the last few years. The worst was their 'Darwin was Wrong' cover. A lot of scientists were really annoyed with that one.
    Chregu likes this.
    06-11-2014 04:26 AM