WC 1M Post Challenge - You Ready?!

martinmc78

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
Re: WPC 20K Post Challenge - You Ready?!

I'm originally from Canada and I lived in Australia prior to moving to the UK. In both those countries the term engineer is taken quite seriously. Here in the UK it gets bandied about rather readily. So I like to make sure that people don't assume that I am an engineer that has any legal designation as I haven't done any legal tests or have qualifications that are legally bound by law.

Indeed - Engineer in the UK has been far too diluted. You get Binmen going round calling themselves refuse disposal engineers. Everyone wants a title. Personally I sometimes call myself a Design engineer as well if asked what I do for a living. People seem to accept that as a job. If I tell someone outside my industry im a BIM Implementation Manager it kinda ends the conversation.

Shinigami910

Sep 26, 2013
Visit site

I'm originally from Canada and I lived in Australia prior to moving to the UK. In both those countries the term engineer is taken quite seriously. Here in the UK it gets bandied about rather readily. So I like to make sure that people don't assume that I am an engineer that has any legal designation as I haven't done any legal tests or have qualifications that are legally bound by law.

I was only joking with you :) Yeah being an engineer i agree the term in the UK is used far too loosely and broadly

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site

I was only joking with you :) Yeah being an engineer i agree the term in the UK is used far too loosely and broadly

Oh I knew you were joking with me I was just venting. :p

I've been doing this stupid thing I'm on for the last few days and just when I think I'm done there's a change or something different needs to be done. It's tiring.

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site