WC 1M Post Challenge - You Ready?!

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site
Re: WC 150K Post Challenge - You Ready?!

I understand it, but I have a biology degree and worked in a chemical lab for 11 years. All of the measurements used SI units.
The British gallon is different than the US one. I believe the mile may be different as well...

The US basically has it's own measurements...

Saying that the UK can't seem to let go of the mile, which is frustrating as everything else is metric. Oh and their weight system still uses 'stone' for some unknown reason.

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site

What I do know is that water freezes at 0?C which makes more sense than 32?F
Metric system all works together. First it starts off with defining the metre. Check the wiki for that as I'm not explaining it...

The metre is than used as a bassis for other measurements.

Than with weight and temperature it's all water based. Zero is when water freezes and 100C is when it boils.

For weight what happens is that you take 0.1m and cube it. The volume is than filled with water and that weight is the kilogram. The liquid volume is equal to 1 litre.

As you can see it all works together. That's why anyone used to the metric system finds the US one bonkers.

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site

The British gallon is different than the US one. I believe the mile may be different as well...

The US basically has it's own measurements...

Saying that the UK can't seem to let go of the mile, which is frustrating as everything else is metric. Oh and their weight system still uses 'stone' for some unknown reason.
I have a Boddingtons glass that is an official Imperial pint.
4db5affe9abfbfd0ffedae02fe983858.jpg

Rose640

Jul 20, 2015
Visit site

Metric system all works together. First it starts off with defining the metre. Check the wiki for that as I'm not explaining it...

The metre is than used as a bassis for other measurements.