Question for programmers

squire777

Feb 21, 2012
Visit site
I studied Computer Science in university and started off mostly doing software development in languages such as VB, C++ and Java. After working with software development for a few years I kind of got sick of it mostly because of some negative situations. For example, working in teams where the other members weren't pulling their weight, clients drastically changing specs at the last minute and my managers allowing it (causing a lot of code to be rewritten), having to take home work, etc

I ended up changing pace and got an IT job that didn't require me to do any programming. So for a few years I have barely done any programming but now I am thinking of maybe getting back into programming but instead going into web development. My current job is good, but the money isn't as good as it could be and there isn't much room to move up. I have friends who work in companies doing front end web development and they say it is a lot more stress free than doing application development.

The only issue is that my programming is a bit rusty, and in all my years doing programming I neglected learning web programming. I know HTML and bits of CSS but never really worked on any projects on my own.

So my question is that how long do you think it would take to learn enough CSS, Javascript, and AJAX on my own?

My friends tell me that I should be good to go after a month of hard work but then again they are natural when it comes to programming and I am a bit slower at picking up programming concepts than they are.

Pete

Retired Moderator
Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Buy the relevant Dummy's guides and run through the examples and see how much you pick up. Doing that should give you a fairly good self assessment on your abilities and whether you want to continue down that route.

azcruz

Jul 29, 2013
Visit site
If you still have the passion, it should all come back.