Why did you switch from iPhone to Lumia?

paradox-sj

Jun 6, 2012
Visit site
I was without a doubt a mobile iProduct fan boy and LOVED my iPod too no end. I converted countless people to mobile iProducts back in the day including getting my company to standardize on them. That said I am also a tech enthusiast and the mobile iProduct platform became very stale in a Windows 3.1.1 kind of way. Static icons on a desktop was great in the 90’s and 2000’s but oh so boring.

Live Tiles
I LOVED Active Desktop in Win7 so when I first saw live tiles, I was hooked. With a single glance I could get relevant information without the need for clicks. What a concept right?! It was simple beautiful and increased my productivity.

Better tech/Better company
Wireless charging, OIS and a camera to die for. Better battery life. Built like a tank. (Lumia) And not looking to monetize me without my permission and acknowledgment or gouge me or price.

Potential
I also believed that it would be only a matter of time before that hardware would catchup to the software. That is as we moved from Mainframe, to desktops, to laptops to mobile phones. That we would eventually have the power and abilities of the former larger device on the smaller device. That Roaming Profile would become the standard and TRUE pocketPC would be in everywhere. Well imho that day (has almost) has arrived. (July 29th) In a cloud first, mobile first world, who would be in the best position (after the DOJ shackles were removed) to execute on this? None other than M$ and I say that with a smile.

900>920>1520

LoveAsYouKnowIt

Apr 30, 2015
Visit site
Here are my reasons:

1. No More iTunes!
  2. OIS in Camera
  3. No more annoying badge over my icon because I didn't read that email!
  4. Wireless charging
  5. Good ecosystem! (Read: No iCloud crap)

Last edited by a moderator:

RJ Priest

Feb 13, 2013
Visit site
I fell in love with Windows Phone for the following reasons over the iPhone:

Windows Phone 8 Design Language